Saturday, March 2, 2024

West Indies and New Zealand Fixture to Start the Women’s World Cup in 2022 Campaign

The Kiwis will host the Women’s World Cup in 2022, and they will start the WC campaign with West Indies on 4th March 2022. This ICC marquee event will have 31 games, and they will play it for more than 31 days, with the final will be held on 3rd April 2022 at Hagley Oval Christchurch. 

England is the current defending champions of this fifty overs tournament, and they will start their ICC World Cup 2022 campaign with arch-rival Australia, who has won this competition six times. India Vs Pakistan match will be played on the third of this marquee event at Bay Oval in Tauranga.

The ICC World Cup 2022 will be an eight-team event just like 2017, and it will be played in a league phrase. Four teams of this event will play the knockout games. The semi-finals will be played on 30th March 2022 in Basin Reserve in Wellington, and the second semi-final match will be held on 31st March at Hagley Oval in Christchurch, and all these knockouts games will have a reserve day.

New Zealand was the champions of the 2000 Women’s World Cup edition, and now they have qualified as the hosts of this ICC marquee event. And other teams like Australia, England, and India have qualified through the ICC Women’s Championship cycle, held from 2017 to 2020 after the qualification match was canceled in Zimbabwe due to the Corona Virus.

Bangladesh, Pakistan, and West Indies are the last three teams to play this ICC Women’s 2022 event. These three teams are selected based on their rankings, and the ICC has also kept the playing conditions in mind.   

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here