Saturday, March 2, 2024

Vijay Hazare Trophy – Day 1 Review

The Vijay Hazare Trophy, the annual domestic one-day tournament, has started on 20th February. The tournament will go on till March 14. The teams are divided into 6 groups namely Group A, Group B, Group C, Group D, Group E, and Plate Group.

Six different cities will host the group matches. All the matches of Group A will be played at Surat. Indore will host the matches for Group B. Teams placed in Group C and Group D will be playing their matches at Bengaluru and Jaipur, respectively. Kolkata and Tamil Nadu are going to be the host for Group E and Plate Group, respectively.

The Vijay Hazare Trophy is named after one of the greatest Indian players, Vijay Samuel Hazare. He was the captain under whom India won its first test match. He was the first and the only Indian cricketer till 2014 to score a century in each innings of a test match.

Karnataka is the defending champion this year. They won the last tournament against Tamil Nadu. 

The eliminator game for this year’s Vijay Hazare Trophy will be played on 7th March. The quarter-finals will be played on 8th and 9th March. Both the semi-final will be played on 11th March. The final will be played on 14th March. BCCI is yet to announce the venue for these games.

Nine games were played on the first day of the tournament. Here’s a brief review of each match:

1. Gujarat vs Chhattisgarh – Elite Group A

Chhattisgarh won the toss and elected to bat first. They were all out on a score of 231 runs in 48.5 overs. Shashank Chandraker, the wicket-keeper batsman from Chhattisgarh, was the highest scorer for his team. He made 92 off 107 balls.

For Gujarat, Arzan Nagwaswalla took 6 wickets and was the main reason behind Chhattisgarh’s low score.

Gujarat kept on losing wickets on a regular interval. In the end, Gujarat managed to chase the total in 48.1 overs with three wickets in hand. Dhruv Raval and Bhargav Merai both scored 38 runs for Gujarat and were the highest scorers.

Veer Pratap Singh, the fast bowler from Chhattisgarh, took 2 wickets with an economy of 4.20.

2. Railways vs Bihar – Elite Group C

Railways won the toss and elected to bowl first. Bihar lost three wickets for 20 runs. Bihar could not recover from this early blow. They simply surrendered to Railways’ bowlers.

Seven batsmen from Bihar could not reach the double-figure mark. A partnership between Shabbir Khan and Anuj Raj for 120 runs helped Bihar to put forward a total of 189 runs.

Pradeep T took six wickets for Railways. Amit Mishra took 3 wickets and Karn Sharma, the captain of Railways took 1 wicket.

Railways’ openers chased down the total quite easily in 29 overs. Mrunal Devdhar remained not out on 105 runs off 91 balls and Pratham Singh, the other opener scored 72 runs off 83 balls. Railways won the game by 10 wickets.

3. Kerala vs Odisha – Elite Group C

Kerala won the toss and elected to bowl first.

The openers of Odisha were playing consciously in the middle. They managed to have a partnership of 119 runs in 22.2 overs. Kerala’s captain Sachin Baby got the first breakthrough in the form of Gourav Choudhury’s wicket. The other opener, Sandeep Pattnaik was dismissed in the next over. His wicket was taken by S Sreesanth. Sreesanth removed Subhranshu Senapati in his next over. Odisha lost five wickets within an interval of 57 runs.

With some vital knocks from Debabrata Pradhan and Kartik Biswal, Odisha managed to cross 250 runs. Odisha managed to score 258 runs in 45 overs. The match was reduced to 45 overs per side due to the wet outfield.

Kerala won the game by 34 runs according to the VJD method. Robin Uthappa scored 107 runs off 85 balls.

4. Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh – Elite Group C

Uttar Pradesh won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Half-centuries from Devdutt Padikkal and Aniruddha Joshi helped Karnataka to 246 runs off 50 overs.

For Uttar Pradesh, Abhishek Goswami and Karan Sharma had a partnership of 102 runs for the first wicket. Rinku Singh scored 62 runs before rain interrupted the game.

The target for Uttar Pradesh was changed to 207 runs. UP won the game by 9 runs according to the VJD method.

5. Vidarbha vs Andhra – Elite Group B

Andhra won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Faiz Fazal and Yash Rathod made centuries for Vidarbha. Due to this, Vidarbha managed to put a total of 331 runs with a loss of 6 wickets on the scoreboard.

Cheepurapalli Stephen took 3 wickets for Andhra.

Ricky Bhui made a century for Andhra. Nitish Reddy and Hanuma Vihari hit half-centuries. Their innings helped Andhra to chase the total in the last over of the innings.

Darshan Nalkande took three wickets for Vidarbha.

6. Jharkhand vs Madhya Pradesh – Elite Group B

Madhya Pradesh won the toss and elected to field first.

Jharkhand’s captain Ishan Kishan played one of the most memorable knocks of his career. He made 173 runs off 94 deliveries.

Jharkhand managed to score 422 runs.

Madhya Pradesh was not in the game since the first delivery. They were bundled out for 98 runs by Jharkhand’s bowlers.

Varun Aaron took 6 wickets and Jharkhand won the game by 324 runs. Ishan Kishan took 7 catches behind the stump. It is the highest number of catches taken by an Indian wicket-keeper in list A-game.

Click here to read in detail.

7. Tamil Nadu vs Punjab – Elite Group B

Tamil Nadu won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Gurkeerat Singh scored 133 runs off 121 balls for Punjab. He was supported by Simran Singh (71 off 84 balls) and Sanvir Singh (58 off 53 balls). With these innings, Punjab was able to pile up 288 runs in 50 overs.

In reply, N Jagadeesan made 101 runs off 103 balls. With Baba Aparajith’s 88 off 115 balls and Shahrukh Khan’s 55 off 36 balls, Tamil Nadu was able to chase the target with 6 wickets in hand.

8. Baroda vs Goa – Elite Group A

Baroda won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Snehal Kauthankar scored 81 runs off 100 deliveries and he was the highest scorer for Goa. Due to his and other player’s contribution, Goa managed to score 263 runs.

Atit Sheth and Krunal Pandya took three wickets each for Baroda.

Vishnu Solanki made 108 runs off 132 balls. Krunal Pandya made 71 runs off 77 balls.

Baroda managed to chase the target in 48.3 overs. Baroda won the game by 5 wickets.

9. Hyderabad vs Tripura – Elite Group A

Tripura won the toss and elected to field first.

Hyderabad’s openers fired up against Tripura’s bowlers. Tanmay Agarwal scored 86 off 100 balls and Tilak Varma, the other opener scored 156 runs off 145 balls.

Hyderabad scored 349 runs in 50 overs.

For Tripura, Bikramkumar Das made 65 off 83 balls and Milind Kumar made 67 off 63 balls. Their efforts were simply not enough and Hyderabad won the game by 113 runs.

Chama V Milind took 5 wickets for Hyderabad.

Ankit Anand
Ankit Anand
Writer. Poet. Avid Cricket Fan. Marketing Geek. I read more than I write. I listen more than I speak. I have been following cricket longer before I learned the meaning of the word 'Following.'
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here