Saturday, March 2, 2024

The Top 10 Best Cricket Tournaments to Bet on From India

Cricket is a national obsession in India, with betting on the sport getting a lot more popular too.

People using cricket betting sites in India will see they have a lot of choice, not just in the markets that are available but in the various different cricket competitions around the world.

In this article we will take a look at the top cricket tournaments to bet on from India.

Introduction to cricket betting in India

Cricket betting in India is easier than ever these days thanks to the rise in mobile technology.

Fans of the sport can place a wager via their smartphone while watching a game on the television. With plenty of live in-play bets offered, this is a great way to liven up a match.

Indian sports fans can also access a range of cricket betting bonuses to get good value too.

Some of the best cricket betting apps in India even have live sports streams available to view.

Top 10 best cricket tournaments for Indians to bet on

With all of that in mind, here are our picks for the best cricket tournaments for Indians to bet on.

1. Indian Premier League

There is no doubt about the most popular cricket tournament to bet on India: it is the IPL.

The Indian Premier League continues to grow, with new teams being added to the competition in time for the 2022 season, which was won by the Gujarat Titans.

Most of the best players in the world, such as England star Jos Buttler, ply their trade in the IPL. Players are able to earn a fortune as a result of being snapped up by one of the franchise sides.

There could also soon be a women’s IPL, with reports indicating the event could launch in 2023.

2. Ranji Trophy

Indian cricket fans can bet on domestic tournaments too, with the Ranji Trophy among the best.

The Ranji Trophy sees 38 teams representing regional and state cricket associations facing off.

The format sees a round-robin then knockout tournament held to decide the tournament winner.

3. Vijay Hazare Trophy

Also known as the Ranji One-Day Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy is worth considering as well.

The Vijay Hazare Trophy, which is named after the legendary Indian cricketer Vijay Hazare, is a limited-overs competition that has been won by Tamil Nadu a record five times.

4. World Test Championship

For a lot of Indian cricket fans, the pinnacle of the sport remains Test cricket. Now, there is a global competition for the longest format, with the World Test Championship being held.

Each Test match sees points up for grabs in the overall table, with the best teams then facing off in a special final in order to see which of them will receive the trophy.

New Zealand beat India in the final of the inaugural World Test Championship in June 2021.

5. T20 World Cup

While Test cricket has a lot of fans, many sports lovers still prefer the explosive nature of T20.

While the T20 World Cup typically takes place every two years or so, the schedule has been disrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic, which means it took place in 2021 and will again in 2022.

The West Indies is the only team to have won the tournament on multiple occasions to date, with India among the countries to have celebrated winning the T20 World Cup just once so far.

A typical format for the T20 World Cup sees the top 10 nations in the world rankings joined by half a dozen qualifiers, with a preliminary round then getting the event up and running.

6. Cricket World Cup

Unlike the T20 World Cup, the Cricket World Cup is held every four years, instead of two. However, as is the case with the T20 World Cup, there is both a men’s and women’s World Cup.

England are the current champions after winning the 2019 World Cup in dramatic fashion with a tight victory over New Zealand, with India set to host the next edition of the competition in 2023.

Indian great Sachin Tendulkar is one of the most successful players in the history of the Cricket World Cup, with nobody having scored more than his haul of 2,278 runs in the competition.

India have won the men’s Cricket World Cup twice so far, celebrating glory for the first time all the way back in 1983. India’s most recent men’s Cricket World Cup victory was in 2011.

7. Big Bash

While the IPL is by far the largest T20 competition in the world, many other cricket-playing nations hold their own versions and Australia’s Big Bash is up there with the best of them.

Established in 2011 by Cricket Australia, the Big Bash takes place in December, January and February, over the course of the Australian summer months.

Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in the league, with four titles so far including the most recent edition of the tournament.

There are eight teams in the Big Bash: the Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Brisbane Heat, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

8. The Ashes

One of the most historic cricket competitions is one of the best to bet on in India: the Ashes.

Played as a Test series between England and Australia, the Ashes takes place every two years with the countries alternating hosting the competition.

The history of the Ashes can be traced all the way back to Australia’s 1882 victory at The Oval, the first time they had won on English soil.

In response to that defeat, British newspaper The Sporting Times published a satirical obituary for English cricket, claiming that it had died – which led to the birth of the Ashes.

The Women’s Ashes is also popular to bet on in India. Unlike the men’s Ashes, which is made up of a Test series, in the women’s competition there are One-Day Internationals and Twenty20 International matches as well as Tests with teams picking up points for their results.

9. Caribbean Premier League

Of the various domestic T20 leagues that take place around the world, the Caribbean Premier League is perhaps the most fun to watch.

Taking place across the Caribbean, it was launched in 2013 to replace the Caribbean Twenty20.

Trinbago Knight Riders are the most successful team in the history of the CPL with four titles, but the most recent edition of the tournament was won by the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

The CPL is made up of six franchise teams: Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, Saint Lucia Kings and Trinbago Knight Riders.

10. The Hundred

Cricket administrators around the world continue to come up with new ideas for competitions that are available to bet on in India, with the Hundred among the most recent of them.

As the name of the tournament suggests, the Hundred sees matches made up of teams having 100 balls apiece to score as many runs as possible. It is essentially a shortened form of T20.

Played in England and Wales for the first time in 2021, the Hundred has a franchise system similar to the IPL and CPL.

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here