Saturday, March 2, 2024

Padikkal and Uthappa Shines for Their Respective Teams – Vijay Hazare Trophy – Day 5 Review

Devdutt Padikkal and Robin Uthappa are two batsmen who have been consistent performers for their teams in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy. Padikkal made 152 runs off 140 balls on the fifth day of the tournament. He hit 14 fours and 5 sixes during his innings. In another game, Robin Uthappa made 100 off 104 balls. His innings also had 8 fours and 5 sixes.

In a match against Bihar, UP’s 20-year-old left-arm spinner, Shivam Sharma took 7 wickets in 10 overs. He bowled with an economy of 3.1.

Here’s what all happened on day 5 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

1. Bihar vs Uttar Pradesh – Elite Group C

Uttar Pradesh won the toss and elected to field first.

Aaqib Khan removed the two openers in the first four overs of Bihar’s innings. Yashasvi Rishav and Babul Kumar showed some resistance and had a partnership of 76 runs for the third wicket.

Shivam Sharma then delivered one of the best spells of this tournament. He removed the next seven batsmen of Bihar. Shivam Mavi took the last wicket of Bihar. Bihar could only make 193 runs in 46.1 overs.

In reply, UP also had a similar start. Their openers could only make 16 runs. Priyam Garg, Akshdeep Nath, and Upendra Yadav hit half-centuries each and sealed the game for UP.

UP made 194 runs in 28 overs and won the game by 5 wickets.

2. Karnataka vs Odisha – Elite Group C

Odisha won the toss and elected to field first.

Karnataka’s openers had a 100 plus run stand for the second time in this tournament. Both of them added 140 runs for the first wicket in this match. They provided a start that was capitalized by other batsmen.

A century from Devdutt Padikkal and 60 runs off 83 balls by

Ravikumar Samarth helped Karnataka to make 329 runs in 50 overs.

Subhranshu Senapati made 78 off 92 and Ankit Yadav 56 off 63 for Odisha. But their innings were not enough for Odisha to overpower Karnataka’s score.

They were all-out for 228 runs. Karnataka won the game by 101 runs.

3. Kerala vs Railways – Elite Group C

Railways won the toss and elected to field first.

Uthappa and fellow opener, Vishnu Vinod were keen to score big in the match. Both of them were there in the middle till the 31st over. On the 5th ball of the 31st over, Uthappa was dismissed after scoring his second century in the tournament.

Four overs later, Vishnu Vinod was also dismissed. He made 107 runs off 107 balls.

Sanju Samson made a quick-fire 61 off 29 deliveries. Vathsal Govind was not out on 46 off 34 balls. All these innings helped Karnataka to score 351 runs in 50 overs.

Mrunal Devdhar, Arindam Ghosh, Saurabh Singh, and Harsh Tyagi made half-centuries. But Railways failed to reach the target set by Karnataka. Karnataka’s bowlers halted Railways’ plan once they reached 344 runs. Railways lost the game by 7 runs.

4. Andhra vs Punjab – Elite Group B

Punjab won the toss and elected to field first.

Sid Kaul and Barinder Sran took 4 and 3 wickets, respectively. Nitish Reddy was the top-scorer for Andhra. He made 30 off 49 balls. Andhra made 175 runs.

Punjab chased the target in the 36th over. Mandeep Singh made 64 off 81 balls.

5. Tamil Nadu vs Madhya Pradesh – Elite Group B

Tamil Nadu won the toss and elected to field first.

Both Aditya Shrivastava and Parth Sahani made 46 runs for Madhya Pradesh. Madhya Pradesh made 225 runs in 48.2 overs before they were all-out.

M Mohammed took 3 wickets for Tamil Nadu.

Tamil Nadu’s innings had a lot of ups and downs. Shahrukh Khan tried saving the sinking boat of Tamil Nadu, but there was no help from any other player. He made 67 off 77 balls.

Tamil Nadu was all-out for 211 runs. Madhya Pradesh won the game by 14 runs.

Tamil Nadu have now lost two consecutive matches in the tournament.

6. Jharkhand vs Vidarbha – Elite Group B

Jharkhand won the toss and elected to field first.

With the help of Sanjay Raghunath’s 82 off 95 balls and Akshay Wadkar’s 76 off 74 balls, Vidarbha was able to make 288 runs in 50 overs.

Jharkhand’s Vikash Singh took 4 wickets.

Ishan Kishan was dismissed on the very first ball of Jharkhand’s innings. Utkarsh Singh and Kumar Deobrat lifted Jharkhand’s innings from there. Deobrat made 100 off 103 balls and Utkarsh made 49 off 63 balls.

During the final phase of Jharkhand’s innings, Rajandeep Singh made 48 off 25 balls. His innings helped Jharkhand to win the game in the final over of the match.

Jharkhand won the game by 3 wickets.

7. Goa vs Chhattisgarh – Elite Group A

Chhattisgarh won the toss and elected to field first.

Goa’s first five batsmen could only add 99 runs in the first 30 overs of their innings. Out of these 99 runs, 46 runs came from Amit Verma’s bat. The last 5 batsmen added 111 runs to the total.

Darshan Misal made 56 off 54 balls and Prabhudessai made 44 off 64 balls. Goa made 210 runs in 49.2 overs.

Veer Pratap Singh took 4 wickets for Chhattisgarh.

Chhattisgarh’s openers, Rishabh Tiwari, made 91 off 106 balls and Shashank Chandraker made 55 off 58 balls. After Chandraker was dismissed, Harpreet Singh, the captain of Chhattisgarh’s team, joined Tiwari in the middle.

Singh made 56 off 55 balls.

Chhattisgarh won the game by 8 wickets.

8. Gujarat vs Tripura – Elite Group A

Tripura won the toss and elected to field first.

Dhruv Raval, the wicket-keeper of Gujarat, made 83 off 83 balls.

Het Patel made 114 runs off 99 balls. Chirag Gandhi made 80 off 70 balls. The three of them helped Gujarat to make 336 runs in 50 overs.

Gujarat lost 7 wickets during the process and 5 of them were clinched by Rana Dutta.

Tripura’s opener Udiyan Bose made 65 off 77 balls. None of the other batsmen from Tripura could make more than 25 runs. Eventually, Tripura had to surrender in front of Gujarat. They were all-out for 204 runs.

Gujarat won the game by 132 runs.

9. Hyderabad vs Baroda – Elite group A

Hyderabad won the toss and elected to field first.

Kedar Devdhar made 131 runs off 139 balls. Krunal Pandya made 55 off 50 balls. Both of them helped Baroda to score 316 runs in 50 overs.

Hyderabad started their innings on a good note. Their openers made 75 runs for the first wicket. Once the first wicket fell, there was no one to look after Hyderabad’s innings. Hyderabad could only make 206 runs before being all-out.

Babashafi Pathan took 3 wickets for Baroda. Baroda won the game by 110 runs.

Ankit Anand
Ankit Anand
Writer. Poet. Avid Cricket Fan. Marketing Geek. I read more than I write. I listen more than I speak. I have been following cricket longer before I learned the meaning of the word 'Following.'
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here