Saturday, March 2, 2024

India’s New Recruits Having A Gala Time at The Vijay Hazare Trophy – Day 2 Review

India announced its squad for the T20 series against England on 20th February. It included Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, and Rahul Tewatia in the squad. The news came just after Ishan Kishan made 172 runs off 91 balls in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy against Chhattisgarh. On the second day of the tournament, the other two recruits celebrated their selection in the team with half-centuries. Here’s the complete story from day 2 of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

1. Jammu and Kashmir vs Saurashtra – Elite Group E

Saurashtra’s captain Jaydev Unadkat won the toss for his team and elected to field first.

Saurashtra’s bowlers dominated the first half of the game, and wickets came in at regular intervals for them.

J&K’s batsmen could gather just only 199 runs in the first 40 overs of their innings. But they had lost just four wickets. They gained some momentum in the last 10 overs of the innings. The batsmen gathered 80 runs in the last overs and lost 5 wickets.

Vivrant Sharma’s 66 off 82 balls, Shubham Khajuria’s 68 off 78 balls, and Abid Mushtaq’s 50 off 30 balls helped J&K to make 279 runs in 50 overs.

Chetan Sakariya and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja took 3 wickets each for Saurashtra.

J&K’s bowlers repeated the same script, followed by their counterparts. Saurashtra’s first three batsmen were back in the dugout by the end of the fourth over.

A partnership between Vishvaraj Jadeja and Arpit Vasavada for the fourth wicket off 86 runs got Saurashtra back on track. After both of them were dismissed, Chirag Jani and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja handled the innings. Chirag Jani made 93 off 79 deliveries and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 40 off 35 balls.

Saurashtra won the game by 3 wickets in the last over of the game.

2. Bengal vs Services – Elite Group E 

Services won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Services’ bowlers also followed the same guideline which was followed by Saurashtra’s bowlers. They also dominated the first 40 overs of the game. Bengal could only make 206 runs off the first 40 overs. They also lost 4 wickets.

The game changed in the last ten overs of the innings. Bengal gathered 119 runs in the last ten overs. At one point, they were struggling to go past 250 runs. But at the end of their innings, they had put 315 runs on the board.

Anustup Majumdar and Kaif Ahmed made 58 off 61 balls and 75 off 53 balls, respectively.

Bengal’s bowlers dominated the game right from the first ball. Rajat Paliwal’s 90 off 102 and Pulkit Narang’s 53 off 58 balls failed to seal a victory for their team. Bengal won the match by 70 runs.

3. Haryana vs Chandigarh – Elite Group E

Chandigarh won the toss and opted to bowl.

Haryana’s openers gave it a good start. Himanshu Rana made 102 off 125 balls and Arun Chaprana made 50 off 70 balls. After Arun’s wicket, Haryana’s innings slowed down completely. At the end of the 40th over, Haryana had made 191 runs and lost 5 wickets.

Rahul Tewatia, who came in to bat at the seventh position, made 73 off 39 balls. He hit four 4s and six 6s. Haryana ended the innings with 299 runs in 50 overs.

Jagjit Singh bowled 7 overs for Haryana. He gave 36 runs and took 3 wickets.

Arslan Khan was bowled by Arun Chaprana in the second over of the game. Manan Vohra and Shivam Bhambri handled Chandigarh’s innings from that point. Bhambri made 48 off 46 balls. Uday Kaul and Bipul Sharma were dismissed early. Chandigarh struggled for a brief moment. But Ankit Kaushik’s 78 off 66 balls along with Manan Vohra helped Chandigarh to sail through the target.

Chandigarh won the game by 3 wickets.

4. Assam vs Manipur – Plate Group

The toss was delayed due to a wet outfield initially. Because of this, the match was reduced to 28 overs per side. Assam won the toss and elected to field first.  

Manipur made 108 runs with a loss of 6 wickets.

Assam’s openers chased the target quite easily in just 15 overs. Pallavkumar Das made 75 off 53 balls and his partner, Denish Das, made 36 off 41 balls. Assam won the game by 10 wickets.

5. Arunachal Pradesh vs Mizoram – Plate Group

Mizoram won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Rain disturbed the game after 14 balls were bowled. The match could not be continued from that point and was called off.

6. Nagaland vs Sikkim – Plate Group

Sikkim won the toss and opted to field first.

With the help from Sedezhalie Rupero 99 off 110 balls and

Rongsen Jonathan’s 92 off 78 balls, Nagaland was able to make 310 runs in 50 overs.

Sikkim’s batsmen tried their level best to match the target set by Nagaland. But they kept on losing wickets at regular intervals.

Robin Bist, the captain of Sikkim made 72 off 85 balls and he was the lone warrior for his team. No other batsmen could help him.

Sikkim was bowled out for 212 runs. Nagaland won the game by 98 runs.

7. Uttarakhand vs Meghalaya – Plate Group

Uttarakhand won the toss and opted to field first.

Uttarakhand’s bowlers didn’t allow Meghalaya’s batsmen to free their hands. Sanjay Yadav, who came in to bat at the sixth position, made 81 off 49 balls. He hit 7 sixes in this innings of him.

Meghalaya could only make 242 runs off 50 overs and they lost 6 wickets.

Uttarakhand chased down the target quite comfortably. The star of the match for them was Jay Gokul Bista. He made 141 runs off 119 balls.

8. Rajasthan vs Puducherry – Elite Group D

Rajasthan won the toss and elected to field first.

Paras Dogra made 101 runs off 109 balls. Sheldon Jackson made 55 off 69 balls. Puducherry made 273 runs off 50 overs.

Rajasthan’s openers were quite effective against the opposition’s bowling lineup. Manender Narender Singh made 115 off 144 balls. His partner, Aditya Garhwal made 70 off 62 balls.

Rajasthan won the game in the 46th over of their innings.

9. Maharashtra vs Himachal Pradesh – Elite Group D

Maharashtra won the toss and elected to bat first.

Maharashtra’s captain, Ruturaj Gaikwad, made 102 runs off 109 balls. Some small contributions from Yash Nahar, Ankit Bawne, and Azim Kazi helped Maharashtra to make 295 runs in 50 overs.

In the 49th over of Maharashtra’s innings, Vaibhav Arora dismissed three batsmen and completed his hat-trick.

Himachal Pradesh’s batsmen had no answers to most of the questions that were put forward by Maharashtra’s bowlers. Rajvardhan Hangargekar took 4 wickets for Maharashtra.

Himachal Pradesh lost the game by 59 runs.

10. Delhi vs Mumbai – Elite Group D

Mumbai won the toss and opted to field first.

Six of the seven Delhi batsmen that were dismissed could not reach double-figure. Three out of these were dismissed for a duck. Delhi was never in the game.

But Himmat Singh was the man who made all the difference. He came in to bat on the third ball of Delhi’s innings. He saw his partners getting dismissed from the other end, but he continued to defend Delhi’s fort till the last ball. 

He made 106 off 145 balls. He was supported by Shivank Vashisht, who made 55 off 70 balls. Delhi made 211 runs in 50 overs.

In reply, Prithvi Shaw made a splendid century. He scored 105 off 89 balls. Shreyas Iyer made 39 off 39 balls and Suryakumar Yadav made 50 off 33 balls. Mumbai won the game by 7 wickets.

Ankit Anand
Ankit Anand
Writer. Poet. Avid Cricket Fan. Marketing Geek. I read more than I write. I listen more than I speak. I have been following cricket longer before I learned the meaning of the word 'Following.'
Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here