Saturday, March 2, 2024

Who Are The Best IPL Players We’ve Seen So Far?

It’s been just 2 months since Indian Premier League 2020 began and the tournament has already witnessed some top performances. Top performances like these literally make us believe that we’re inside the TV, on the pitch with them and simultaneously at the edge of our seat! These high-intensity matches have been a rollercoaster for two weeks. So, in this article, we take a look at 10 of the best IPL players who have always proved to be the best value buys for IPL teams! 

10 Of The Best IPL Players Of All Time:

The Indian Premier League has seen some extraordinary games from the best T20 players to have graced our screens. Therefore, picking a mixture of great IPL players was no easy task, but we’ve given it a crack. We wanted a balanced roster so here’s who we believe are the best IPL players of all time in no particular order. 

David Warner:

David Warner has been amongst the most prolific run-scorers in the tournament, and makes a good case for being one of the best IPL players of all time on an international scale. The left-hander is fourth on the list of all-time run scorers, having averaged 4,706 runs at a strike-rate of 142.39. His average of 43.17 is significantly greater than the rest of the top five, the next best being Virat Kohli, who averages around 37.84. David took the Sunrisers Hyderabad to their sole IPL triumph in 2016, making himself the third overseas captain to win the tournament. He claimed the Orange Cap thrice in his career, more than any other player in history! 

Rohit Sharma:

The man who transformed Mumbai Indians from a franchise desperate for a trophy to the most successful team in the tournament, Rohit Sharma has a special bond with the IPL. The man has proudly claimed  the trophy five times – more than any other player – and has led MI on four of those events. Mumbai Indians have won four IPL titles under Rohit’s captaincy Rohit won his first IPL title with the Deccan Chargers, in the second edition in 2009, before picking up four titles in seven seasons with the Mumbai Indians, from 2013 to 2019. He is the third-highest run-getter in IPL history so far, bagging 4898 runs at 31.60. 

Lasith Malinga:

The highest wicket-taker in the IPL, Lasith Malinga’s legacy runs deep in the IPL record books, as well as in the hearts of Mumbai Indians fans. 

The Sri Lanka pacer has scored 170 wickets at an average of 19.80, giving away just 7.14 runs per over. What’s remarkable is Malinga has played significantly lesser matches than every other bowler in the top five, and still sits above them with ease. Malinga also gave us a remarkable performance in Mumbai’s victory over CSK in the 2019 final, defending 13 in the last over to give them a record fourth title. He also took home the Purple Cap in the 2011 edition. 

Virat Kohli:

RCB fans were sad to not have won the trophy so far, but their skipper remains one of the best batsmen or should we say one of the best IPL players in the competition. Kohli leads the run charts with 5412 runs in 177 matches, and is the only player in the tournament to have represented the same side in all 12 seasons. 

The man has had a freak season in 2016, smashing 973 runs at an unprecedented average of 81.08, including four hundreds. He was declared the MVP of the tournament during the 2016 season, becoming only the second Indian to win that award after Sachin Tendulkar.  

Suresh Raina:

An IPL monster, Raina, apart from Kohli, is the only player to have aggregated over 5000 runs. He scored back-to-back editions with the Chennai Super Kings, in 2010, when he was their top scorer, and then again in 2011. Raina is the most capped player in IPL history He then moved to Gujarat Lions during CSK’s two-year suspension, but returned to the yellow brigade thereafter, as CSK won the title for the third time, in 2018. Raina also bagged the record of playing the most number of matches in the IPL: 193. 

MS Dhoni:

A formidable force, Dhoni was the only captain to have lifted the IPL trophy in consecutive years making him the cornerstone of CSK’s tremendous success. 

Using his astute leadership and blazing batsmanship, he has captained in 11 of the 12 seasons he’s played in, with 2017, his second season with Rising Pune Supergiant, being the lone exception. 

Although he bats in the lower middle-order through most of the competition, Dhoni is the seventh-highest run-getter, with 4432 runs at 42.20. The captain has also smashed the third most sixes in the competition (209), only behind AB de Villiers (212) and Chris Gayle (326). 

Ravindra Jadeja:

One of Dhoni’s most trusted players in the CSK outfit, Jadeja is a conquering giant who is an indispensable member in the league. Claiming 108 wickets across 12 seasons, Jadeja is among the top 10 wicket-takers in the IPL. However, he brings a lot more than just his legendary left-arm. 

An electric fielder and a clean striker, the man adds balance to a T20 outfit, particularly on the spin-friendly surface at Chepauk, the Super Kings’ home ground. Ravindra Jadeja has also bagged 63 catches in the competition. He was the winner of the inaugural edition of the IPL with Rajasthan Royals, before picking up the trophy once again with CSK in 2018.

Dwayne Bravo:

Hailing from West Indies, Dwayne Bravo  is one of the best players to have played in the league. Known for his death bowling and an impeccable slower ball, the bowler is the fifth-highest wicket-taker in tournament history, and the second among fast bowlers. Bravo has been a much sought after bowler in the death overs for CSK The all-rounder has snared 147 scalps at 24.60 and has won two Purple Caps, in 2013 and 2015. He is also an electric fielder and a big striker as a lower-order batsman. With fiery dance moves and an easy smile to boot, Bravo’s colourful character makes him one of the biggest fan favourites in the competition. 

Andre Russell:

Another tall giant of a man who’s an all-rounder from the West Indies, Russell has forged his unique brand making him one the best IPL players of all time. A player of the tournament in 2015 and 2019, the Jamaican has been one of KKR’s most influential players over the years.  In extraordinary form last year, AR bludgeoned 510 runs at 56.66, striking at over 204. He also picked up 11 wickets in the season. All in all, he has claimed 1400 runs and scored 55 scalps in 64 games. Russell also proudly bagged the IPL trophy with KKR in 2014. 

Sunil Narine:

With 122 scalps in 110 games, Narine is the most successful overseas bowler in the IPL. One of the key performers for KKR in their title wins in 2012 and 2014, Sunil Narine was by far one of their most important players ahead of the 2020 edition. Narine was the second highest wicket-taker during both of KKR’s victorious campaigns, in 2012 and 2014 Narine had a superb season in 2018, finishing as the tournament’s MVP. He scored 17 wickets and smashed 357 runs that year. Over the latter phase of his IPL career, Narine has developed into an exciting hitter at the top of the order. KKR has deployed him as an opener on multiple occasions, and he has delivered smashing starts more often than not. His 15-ball half-century against RCB in 2017 is the joint-second fastest fifty in the competition. 

So those were our picks for the ultimate IPL legends – do you agree? 

Disclaimer: All images used here are used for representation purposes only. 

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here