Saturday, March 2, 2024

All the Details of India’s Tour of South Africa 2021/2022

India’s Tour of South Africa 2021/2022 starts with the three-match Test series on 26th December 2021.

The Indian Team is set to tour South Africa despite the scare of the new Corona Virus variant, Omicron. The two boards, BCCI and CSA, have given revised fixtures for the newly scheduled Test series and ODI series between India and South Africa. Earlier, India’s Tour of South Africa had three T20Is, ODIs, and Test matches which would have been started from 17th December 2021.

But now the Board of Cricket Control in India and Cricket South Africa has said that the Test series and One Day International series will start from Sunday, 26th December 2021 in Supersports Park in Centurion, and there won’t be any series of the shortest format this time around while the fifty over format series will start 19th January 2022 at Boland in Paarl.

Full Fixtures of India’s Tour of South Arica 2021/2022

  • India Vs South Africa’s 1st Test Match is at Supersports Park in Centurion, and it will be played from Sunday, 26th December 2021 to Thursday, 30th December 2021.
  • India vs South Africa’s Second Test Match will be played at the Wanders Stadium in Johannesburg from Monday, 3rd January 2022 to Friday 7th January 2022.
  • India Vs South Africa’s third and final test match will start from Tuesday, 11th January 2022 to Saturday 15th January 2022.
  • 1st ODI between India Vs South Africa will be played at Boland in Paarl on Wednesday, 19th January 2022.
  • 2nd ODI between India Vs South Africa will be played at Boland Paarl on Friday, 21st January 2022 at Boland in Paarl.
  • 3rd and final match of this fifty-over series between India Vs South Africa will be played at Newlands in Cape Town on Sunday, 23rd January 2022.

India’s Squad for the South African Tour

The Indian Board, BCCI, has announced their squad for the three-match Test and the one-day series against the hosts South Africa. Team India will be under the new captain in the ODI format. Rohit Sharma will also take over the captaincy from Virat Kohlu in the fifty overs format, and now Kohli will only captain India in the Test matches.

Many were surprised to see Ajinkya Rahane again in the Test squad despite his poor run in the recent red-ball matches. Rohit Sharma is the vice-captain of the Test side, while the regulars like Chesteshwar Pujara, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Ashwin, and Rishab Pant will be there on this grueling tour of South Africa. After his fantastic debut Test series against New Zealand, Shreyas Iyer has also been included. According to many speculations and reports, Ishant Sharma might play this South African series like his last. KL Rahul, Jayant Yadav, and Umesh Yadav will also be part of this tour of South Africa.

But the Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel miss out on the tour of South Africa. Jaddu has sustained an injury, while Axar Patel is unavailable for selection for both the series. India has also named Wriddhiman Saha as the second wicketkeeper for this tour. But Saha may not make it to the playing XI as Pant has sealed the spot in the India Test team.

India’s 18 member squad for South Africa Tour – Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravi Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shreyas Iyer, Jayant Yadav, Umesh Yadav and Wriddhiman Saha.

Reserved Players – Deepak Chachar, Saurabh Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Arzan Nagaswalla.

South Africa Squad for the home series against India

South Africa has also announced their squad for the Test and ODI series against India, starting from Sunday 26th December 2021 at Centurion. From this three-match Test series against India, the hosts, Proteas, would like to make a positive start for the World Test Championship campaign. 

The leading South African players like Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, and Quinton De Kock are back for the home series against India after resting for the series against the Netherlands.  Duanne Olivier is back in the South African test squad after 2017. At the same time, Glenton Stuurman and Prenelan Subrayen are also included in the 21 man squad of South Africa in this series against India.

Ryan Rickelton and Sisanda Magala have received a maiden call-up in the red-ball format. Rickelton scored one ton each against Boland and North West, a wicketkeeper-batsman who made a strong case for his selection, and Stuurman had impressed the selectors in the unofficial test series by taking seven wickets against India in the second Test match.

South Africa will also have Lungi Ngidi in their squad, and they have a collection of pace bowlers which could trouble the Indian batters. Ngidi was out of action after he was tested positive for Corona Virus. But now Lungi will return to the Proteas side with his series.

Dean Elgar will lead SA in the Test matches, and Temba Bavuma will be the vice-captain of the South African Test Team. The South African cricket board is excited that the red ball format returns to their country, and they feel that this is a very important format for them and want to keep the Test tradition alive in their country.

South Africa’s Squad against India

Dean Elgar (C), Temba Bavuma (VC), Adien Markram, Quinton De Kock, Anirch Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Sarel Erawee, Benran Hendricks, Wiaan Mulder, Keegan Petersen, Rassive van der Dussen, Glenton Sturrman, Sisanda Magal, Ryan Rickelton and Duanne Olivier.

The TV Channel for India’s Tour of South Africa 2021/2022

India’s tour of South Africa will be shown on India’s best-ever sports channel, the Star Sports India network. This TV Channel will show the three-Test matches, which begin on Sunday 26th December 2021, and the three-match one-day international series on 19th January 2022. Apart from Star Sports India Network, cricket lovers can watch this series in two different formats on Willow TV, Sky Sports Cricket, Fox Sports, DD National, PTV Sports, Ten Sports, Geo TV, SportsMax, Flow Sports, ESPN, GTV, BTV Masaranga TV, SuperSports, ATN Cricket Plus, Astra Cricket HD, RTA, belN Sports, and Channel Eye.

The Live Streaming Channels for India’s Tour of South Africa 2021/2022

Disney Plus Hotstar, JIO TV, and Fan Code applications will show the whole of India’s Tour of South Africa 2021/2022 on mobile devices. But these two applications are paid versions. To see the matches on India Vs South Africa for free, cricket lovers will have to download apps like Live Cricket TV and Live Ten Sports. For just score updates, one may visit cricbuzz, ESPNcricinfo, or

Match Timings

  • The Test matches start at 1.30 PM IST, 8 AM GMT, and 10 AM Local.
  • The three One Day International matches start at 2 PM IST, 8.30 PM GMT and 10.30 PM Local.



Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here